On 4 July 2016, Nigel Farage announced his resignation as UKIP leader because he said his goal had been achieved after his years of Brexit research were successful. The opposition Labour Party held firm until it presented a plan for a soft Brexit in early 2018. [31] On the same day, May announced that after the vote she would resign as Prime Minister if the House of Commons were to agree on 29 March on the Brexit deal, the original date of leaving the EU, which she had already voted for twice, but which was rejected each time. She said she hoped voters would continue to choose to leave the EU in time. Two of their biggest opponents, Boris Johnson and Jacob Rees-Mogg, have announced they will vote for May`s Brexit deal. The EU and the UK reach an interim agreement. It includes a transition period until 31 December 2020, during which all EU rules will continue to apply. It also covers the border between Ireland and Northern Ireland. The European Union and the United Kingdom have reached a draft withdrawal agreement.

On 17 October 2019, the UK and the EU agreed on the terms of the UK`s exit from the EU (Brexit) and a transitional period until 31 December 2020. But at the end of May, active politicians, including Chancellor of the Exchequer Philip Hammond, began moving towards a second referendum, so far categorically rejected, to break the deadlock. Labour leader Corbyn said the 2016 referendum should not be repeated, but a new deal with the EU for a « soft » Brexit could be the subject of a national referendum. [80] In this case, you are covered by the withdrawal contract. However, they must apply for a residence document before 1 July 2021 in order to remain in the Netherlands. On 14 September 2020, Johnson passed an alternative Brexit law, the Internal Market Act, which violated agreements with the EU. This alternative law should allow businesses in Northern Ireland to continue to trade with the rest of the UK without restrictions.